On the occasion of 70th Indian Independence Day, I extend my warm greetings to all INDIAN around the globe. Let us celebrate and enjoy the freedom to live independently in our country Cheerfully, Helpfully, Hopefully, Peacefully by remembering our National Heroes who gave us Freedom after suffering pain & humiliation.
Independence Day
in India is the most important day for every Indian citizen as our
country got freedom from the British rule. We celebrate this day every
year on 15th of August from 1947. Our country is counted as the world’s
largest democracy all over the world. India become an independent
country on 15th of August in 1947 after sacrifices of thousands of
freedom fighters who worked hard to get independence from the British
The republic of India gained its independence from the rule of
the British on 15 August 1947. Since then, this date of 15 August is
celebrated as the Independence Day in India to commemorate its freedom
from the 200-year-old British government. For India, 15 August is a day
of her re-birth, a new start. At the midnight of 15 August 1947, the
British rulers handed the country back to its Indian leaders, ending a
remarkable struggle that lasted years. It was 15 August 1947, the
historic date, on which sovereign India’s first Prime Minister Pandit
Jawaharlal Nehru unfolded the tricolour flag of the nation on the
glorious Red Fort. The day is significant in the history of India as
bringing an end to the British colonial rule in India.
In 1757, after the British victory in the Battle
of Plassey, the rule of East India Company started in India. By 1858, the
British Crown had assumed control over India. The situation after World War I
was marked with suppressive and exploitative laws by the British. This led to
revolutionary calls for independence, and sparked the phase of non-violent and
non-cooperation movements followed by civil disobedience.
The enduring leader and a national symbol for
all these movements was Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi- the Father of the Nation.
The next decades were marked with constant struggles between the Indians and
the British for freedom. Many movements and acts were carried out by the Indian
National Congress, freedom fighters and the people of India.
In the year 1946, the Labour government, the
exchequer of Britain thought of ending their rule over India because of their
exhaustion of capital post World War II. The British government announced, during
the early 1947, that they intend to transfer power to the Indians by the month
of June 1948. This approaching independence could not decrease the Hindu-Muslim
violence in Bengal and Punjab. This led to Louis Mountbatten, the then Viceroy
of India to propone the power hand-over date, owing to the fact that the
unprepared British army could not cope with the increased violence in the
country. In the month of June in 1947, the prominent Indian leaders like Pandit
Jawaharlal Nehru, Mohammed Ali Jinnah, Abul Kalam Azad, Master Tara Singh and
B. R. Ambedkar agreed for a partition of India along religious outline. The
Sikh and Hindu areas were marked as India, while Muslim area as Pakistan.
Millions of people belonging to different
religious groups tramped across the newly drawn border to find places to
reside. This took away around 250,000 to 500,000 lives. Finally, at midnight of
15 August 1947, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru proclaimed India’s independence by
reading out his famous speech known as “Tryst with destiny”. During
this speech, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru said “Long years ago we made a tryst
with destiny, and now the time comes when we will redeem our pledge, not wholly
or in full measure, but very substantially. At the stroke of the midnight hour,
when the world sleeps, India will awake to life and freedom. A moment comes,
which comes, but rarely in history, when we step out from the old to the new,
when an age ends and when the soul of a nation, long suppressed, finds
utterance. We end today a period of ill fortune, and India discovers herself

Every year, India’s Independence Day is
celebrated by all proud Indians. The day is observed as a national holiday for
the country. Though, local governments conduct the ceremony of flag hoisting
all over India, the venue of main celebration is the Red Fort in the capital
city New Delhi in India. The celebration starts every year with the unfurling
of the tricoloured national flag by the Prime Minister of the nation, followed
by a televised speech. The speech generally reflects the present condition of
the nation along with the achievements in the previous year and the future
development plans. A tribute is even paid by the Prime Minister to freedom
fighters of India by declaring the day as a national holiday. Post the
flag-hoisting ceremony, patriotic programs by children from schools based in
different states is one of the main attractions.
In northern and central cities of India, kite flying is celebrated as an
event associated with the Independence Day. People symbolise their
patriotism towards the country with the use of national flags of
different sizes. They decorate their cloths, cars, household, etc. with
the tricolour flag. The Indians in various parts of the world also
celebrate the Independence Day with parades and pageants. Several cities
in the United States have declared 15 August as ‘India Day’.

Leave a Reply