Durga Mata is the incarnation of the
Divine Mother of the universe. She is the eternal warrior figure, born
to destroy the demon, Mahisasura who unleashed his terror upon the
world. ‘Maa Durga’ is the embodiment of feminine power. She is also
referred to as the eternal ‘Shakti’. ‘Durga Maa’ is depicted as a fierce
woman with a radiant smile, several arms and mounted on a lion. She
slaughters all demons, but is compassionate towards the innocent and her
devotees. ‘Devi Durga’ is invincible and her radiating power is feared
even by the Gods. ‘Durga Maa’ is popularly worshipped during ‘Navaratri’
and Durga Puja. It is believed, worshipping Durga, protects the
devotees from all miseries and evils. Mother Durga has 108 names and is
worshipped in many forms. Read on to know about the different forms of


The first form of Durga, ‘Shailputri’, is the Daughter of the Himalaya
Mountain. She is the quintessence of Mother Nature and is also referred
to as ‘Sati’, the wife of Lord Shiva.
The second form of Durga is the one who performs penance. Goddess
Parvati is just another form of Brahmacharini. She is depicted as a
‘Devi’, holding a rosary in her right hand and a ‘Kamandal’ on her left.
The third form of ‘Devi Durga’, ‘Chandraghanta’, the radiant woman with
golden hair, holds weapons in each of her ten hands, and a half-moon on
her forehead. She is the symbol of bravery and valor, and is a fiercer
‘avatar’ of Goddess Durga.
Depicted as a beautiful woman mounted on a lion, Goddess ‘Kushmanda’
resides in the core of the sun. She created the entire universe in the
shape of an egg and gave it life with her radiating smile. She is the
fourth incarnation of Goddess Durga.
‘Skanda Mata’ is the fifth form of Durga. She is accompanied by her
infant son ‘Skanda’ or ‘Karthikeya’, who is the commander in chief of
Gods in battle against demons. She is portrayed as a woman with bright
complexion with three eyes and four arms.
‘Katyayani’ was the sixth form of Goddess Durga. The Rishi pined for a
daughter in the form of a Goddess, which Durga graciously granted. As a
result, Goddess Katyayani was born to the great Rishi ‘Kata’.
‘Kalratri’, the dark Goddess of the night, is depicted as a frightening
woman with three eyes, with fire emanating from her nostrils and a long
sword in her right hand. She is the seventh form of Goddess Durga and is
also known as ‘Shubhamkari’ – the one who does good deeds.
‘Maha Gauri’ is the eighth form of Goddess Durga. She got this name when
Lord Shiva cleansed her with water from the Ganges. She is portrayed in
a white sari, riding a bull and is the embodiment of peace and
The ninth form of ‘Durga Maa’ seated on the lotus, is worshipped by all,
including the Gods. She was blessed with supernatural powers (Siddhis) –
‘Mahima’, ‘Laghima’, ‘Prakamya’, ‘Anima’, ‘Prapti’, ‘Garima’,
‘Vashitva’ and ‘Lishitya’.
‘Durga Devi’, the
powerful Goddess, is worshipped in all her nine forms through Navaratri.
In her different incarnations, Goddess Durga vanquishes all evil and
showers wealth and prosperity upon her devotees.

from WordPress http://ift.tt/1NVhZmj

Spread the love